Becoming a Fellow

A Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia (FIAA) is a fully-qualified actuary. Fellows can sit on Institute committees, stand for Council and vote in Council elections and at Annual General Meetings. The FIAA qualification is recognised in many countries and is held in high esteem throughout Australia and internationally.

To qualify as a Fellow, members need to have passed or been exempted from the Institute's examinations, met the practical experience requirement, and completed a recognised Professionalism Course. Fellowship applications are approved by Council.

Transferring Accredited Membership to Fellowship

Accredited Members are actuaries who have qualified overseas.

The Actuaries Institute currently holds mutual recognition agreements with the following actuarial associations:

  • Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA)
  • Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS)
  • Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA)
  • Institute of Actuaries of India (IAI)
  • New Zealand Society of Actuaries (NZSA)
  • Society of Actuaries (SoA)
  • Society of Actuaries in Ireland (SAI)
  • Actuarial Society of South Africa (ASSA)

Fellows of the above associations who have been accepted as Accredited Members of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia may transfer to become a Fellow after a waiting period of six months, during which time they must work and reside in Australia. Fellows of the New Zealand Society of Actuaries (NZSA) may work and reside in either Australia or New Zealand during the six month waiting period.

Members of other actuarial associations are required to satisfy a waiting period of three years, during which time they must reside and work in Australia and maintain current financial membership as a Fellow of their overseas body.

Apply to Transfer from Accredited Member to Fellow or find out more about Becoming an Accredited Member.